9 Republicans are running for House speaker. Only 2 of them voted to certify the 2020 election

WASHINGTON — After House Republicans dropped Rep. Jim Jordan, R-Ohio, as the nominee for House speaker Friday, nine candidates threw their hat in the ring for the top spot.

But only two of those lawmakers voted to certify the 2020 election, raising questions among some Republicans about where they’ll lend their support in the speaker battle.

After former Speaker Kevin McCarthy, R-Calif., was ousted earlier this month, House Republicans have refused to coalesce around one candidate and elect a new speaker. Though Jordan went through three rounds of voting on the House floor, he increasingly lost support among Republicans in each vote.

The nine candidates running for speaker include House Majority Whip Tom Emmer, R-Minn., Rep. Kevin Hern, R-Okla., Rep. Austin Scott, R-Ga., Rep. Byron Donalds, R-Fla., Rep. Jack Bergman, R-Mich., Rep. Mike Johnson, R-La., Rep. Pete Sessions, R-Texas., Rep. Dan Meuser, R-Pa., and Rep. Gary Palmer, R-Ala.

Both Emmer and Scott voted to certify the 2020 election, releasing statements shortly afterwards condemning the Jan. 6, 2021, Capitol attack. During the riot, a group of former President Donald Trump’s supporters tried to block Congress’ certification of the 2020 presidential election and President Joe Biden’s victory.

At the time, Emmer said Congress “does not have the authority” to disregard state electoral results.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *