Your iPhone can charge you MORE money without asking

APPLE announced new rules on Monday that allow subscription apps to charge you more without asking for permission.

The revised app store policies allow software makers to increase their monthly or annual fees without user consent.

New App Store rules allow apps to charge you more without asking for permissionPhoto credit: Getty

Before the rule change, developers had to notify users about price fluctuations via email, push notification, or in-app message.

Customers who wanted to proceed then had to agree to the revision before being charged any additional costs.

Well, that won’t necessarily be the case.

Provided developers follow certain rules, they can make fee changes without user opt-in.

However, you still need to send a notification to let people know about price adjustments.

Apple said the new policy will help ensure services aren’t “unintentionally disrupted.”

That’s because under the previous rules, app subscriptions were automatically canceled if users didn’t sign up.

Apparently this resulted in people having to re-subscribe if they missed the developer’s message.

“This update also allows developers to offer a price increase for the auto-renewing subscription, under certain conditions and with prior notice to the user, without user action and without disrupting service,” Apple said.

“The specific terms for this feature are that the price increase occurs no more than once per year, does not exceed $5 and 50 percent of the subscription price, or $50 and 50 percent for an annual subscription price, and is permitted by local law. “

The company added that it will notify users via email, push notification and an in-app message in these cases.

Apple is also notifying users on how to view, manage, and cancel subscriptions if preferred.

The company has pushed through a number of major changes to the App Store over the past few weeks.

Last month, Apple began deleting thousands of apps from the platform as part of an overhaul to get rid of outdated software.

The US tech giant has warned affected developers they have 30 days to pull themselves together or face the blow.

Apps in the company’s crosshairs “haven’t been updated in the last three years and don’t meet a minimum download threshold.”

That means the software “was not downloaded at all or very few times over a rolling 12-month period,” Apple said.
BBC Breakfast fans in tears as Dan Walker bids farewell to show
I gave birth to my baby boy twice – the second time was 11 weeks later

The company added that developers of outdated apps received an email notifying them of a possible removal.

To stay safe from the hack, developers must update their apps within the 30-day window.

  • Read the latest phone and gadget news
    Stay up to date on Apple stories
    Get the latest on Facebook, WhatsApp and Instagram

 

Source: thesun

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.